Uncensored, unedited me!

2014

I was on Facebook earlier today and was going to post a status but it was longer than a very large sentence so I decided to write a blog instead. 2014 was a pretty great year for me. I moved to a different state for a job. A job that I find joy in as well as frustration on a regular basis. I work with the department of mental health, social security, department of health and senior services, Medicaid, providers and food stamps. Working within multiple systems trying to find funding for services and finding funding for those that do not have any of the above. The people in my office are great and the individuals I do all this work for are all awesome in their own ways. Each unique and beautiful for what they work to overcome. Awesome and frustrating.

In 2014 I also found out that I had no reason to be eating gluten free. This came about after my symptoms from years before came back. I found out after several months of pain, poking and prodding, and tests that I have IBS. A horrible condition that really changes all the time. See giving up gluten for awhile worked and then it stopped working. So right now cutting out/minimizing fruits and veggies from my diet is working but I know it won’t work forever and soon I’ll have to cut out something else. Annoying absolutely but good to know that cutting something out will work for awhile and a drug from my doctor can help me when nothing else will.

The other great thing that happened in 2014 is I met an amazing man. He’s full of flaws and sees my flaws as well. We are open and honest with each other. We both have a strong faith in God and share that with each other. He is a great man and I truly enjoy spending time with him. I love him and he loves me. It has been great 6 months and look forward to many more.

This year my body has let me down in other ways. At the beginning of 2014 I hurt my elbow by simply working it in weird angles with my mouse and typing. So I had to wear a sling and give up knitting for a very long time. Just a few weeks ago I was able to pick it back up and have been enjoying making scarves since.

More recently my back has been giving me trouble and I’ve had difficulty gripping things on certain days. My back is actually pretty painful and seems to be worse after sitting on the floor for 20 minutes or more. My hands I’m going to ignore for a bit more. They sometimes hurt but again I’ll just ignore that–because arthritis is common in my family so I’m choosing denial for as long as it will work.

Most of my year was filled with joy but there was also great sadness. In the midst of grieving the loss of all of my grandmothers I lost my only grandfather. I lost the last of my grandparents and on some days at the weirdest times I’ll tear up because I feel a great loss. Sometimes while spending time with the man I love I’ll cry because my grandparents would have been overjoyed to meet him. Grandpa would have been excited for me and loved the fact that he loves westerns.

2014 was a great year with ups and downs and I’m excited to see what’s in store for 2015.

Comments on: "2014" (1)

  1. Blessings on your year ahead, my friend. May it be full of even more joys (and just enough frustrations to help you enjoy the joys that much more)!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

