Uncensored, unedited me!

The Castle is Gone

Last year at Christmas time my Grandfather and I had a long argument about whether or not I needed to be rescued. He was certain that I did. He actually said that I needed a man on a white horse to come and rescue me from the castle.

I was immediately bitter about this. Where did he get off thinking that I needed to be rescued? When did I become the damsel in distress?

I have been burning over this for a year and last weekend I stopped burning.

I was at a relationship seminar and I shared about this conversation with my Grandpa and it was received but not in the manner that I thought it would. I was kind of upset that I was still upset and that no one understood how upsetting that story could be.

At the end of the seminar the woman I was sitting next to, whose name was Purity, turned to me and asked if she could pray for me. Then she said that when I was speaking about what my Grandpa had told me she heard God tell her to tell me that the castle was gone. Then she prayed for me and said she had no clue what that meant but she was sure God meant to tell me something.

The castle is gone. What does that mean? It means that I am not the damsel in distress. It means instead of waiting to be rescued I am waiting for my ride. That is something I can get on board with πŸ™‚

I’m not waiting to be rescued but I am waiting for my ride. When he comes he will have a sword to protect me if we run into danger but we will confront it together. He will make me safe. I like that. I like that he will provide protection but that I’m not a damsel.

I am strong, I am courageous and I am a force to be reckoned with. The man that rides up on that horse is going to be okay with that. He is going to have to understand that he is not rescuing but is my ride home. He also needs to be strong. He needs to be courageous and a force to be reckoned with. He needs to be everything I am but more.

We will not complete each other because we will be two complete beings that are looking to live life together. Neither one of us will be rescued because the castle is gone.

The good news is that the castle is gone and all I am doing is waiting for my ride. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

