Uncensored, unedited me!

As you all know I had surgery August 5th and I have been on limited activity and bed rest since. Just this past week I started wearing real clothes. (I was wearing clothes before but the outfits I chose were closer to pajamas than anything else.)

My first week of recovery I spent on the couch in my living room watching countless movies both on my TV and on my laptop. I made it through two seasons of “Mad Men” before I became completely annoyed with Betty and Don and had to stop for a while. Sometimes the morals or the lack of morals on a tv show can get to me. I watched all of “Downton Abbey”, I watched two versions of “Pride and Prejudice” (both the long and the short), I watched all of “Bleak House”,  I watched 2 seasons of “The Big Bang Theory”, and a plethora of Netflix instant movies that are two many to name. That all happened in the first week of my recovery. So what have I done with my second week of recovery?

Well once the pain started to lessen I tried to get out of the house more. I went to see a movie with a good friend. I had a lunch with a friend who is moving. I went grocery shopping with another good friend. I talked on the phone with another good friend. I had my supervisory meeting at my house with my supervisor of my internship (that’s right ladies and gents I’m still in school). And last night I went to Yarn Night. (My friends and I get together to knit and crochet once a week. Some of us use needles and other use hooks but we all use yarn.)

I’ve also spent a lot of time reading. I recently joined goodreads.com. I don’t know if you have heard of this website but I love it. My favorite thing to do to relax (besides watching tv) is to read. On this website you basically list what books you are reading and then write your review of said books. But that is only the surface of this website. You can trade books or swap books with other people out there. Basically people don’t want their books anymore so they list them as swaps and all you have to do is pay for shipping.  That’s pretty awesome but still not the best part. Another amazing aspect of this site is you can enter giveaways for books. I have entered a lot of giveaways and I usually don’t win but just his month I got 3 books that either have just been released or are on their way to being published soon. All I have to do is sign up for the giveaway and then they tell me whether or not I won and send the book to me in about a week. Publishers are the ones giving a way the books along with authors and other people who have access to such things.

Those are some amazing aspects but another great aspect is that the also have free ebooks. I read 3 novels this week that were free ebooks (that can either be read online or downloaded to Adobe Epub) and they were amazing. I laughed and I cried while reading these books and I completely forgot that I was in pain (until I stood up or walked around that is). Thoroughly using this site this week helped this week to go by much faster (I think that was also do to the fact that I was in less pain this week. Don’t get me wrong I was still in pain this week but it was less pain than last week).

So that’s what I have been doing lately. It may or may not sound boring. I’ve thought it was pretty boring sometimes but I have found some ways to help the time go by faster. 🙂

Here’s a link to goodreads.com in case you are interested: http://www.goodreads.com/

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

