Uncensored, unedited me!

A Woman’s Worth

My friend Kevin posted a song on his Facebook page tonight called Pretty Wings by Maxwell.
And it got me thinking about all the women in my life who feel like they are worthless. I cannot tell you how many conversations I have had the last few months with women in my life who think their worth is found in their job or their love life or some outward experience.
They feel like failures if they are without love or without work
They feel like they are not good enough. What is this word enough? Is anyone ever enough?

Why is it that women (I’m only speaking about women because that is my experience) feel like their worth is wrapped up in some exterior norm? Part of this can be blamed on society. Magazines teach us from a young age that if we aren’t size 2 we are abnormal. The church teaches us that we must be married to have worth. Society also hammers this idea home. After the age of 25 or so the media begins to tell us that if we are not married and have kids by the time we are 30 we are worthless. As someone who is turning 30 in 8 days and is not married and has no kids that totally sucks! But my worth is not measured by whether or not I am in a romantic relationship or married.

My worth is not wrapped up in anything. I have worth by being. God gave me worth when he named me. My worth is not tangential. My worth just is.

To my friends who feel worthless I want to say that is a lie!
I feel like we have been told lies our whole lives and we have to do our best to begin to speak truth into those lies not just for ourselves but for our fellow women.

If I am not loved does my worth fade away? If I am not married does my worth disappear? If I do not find an internship does my worth splinter? No.

We are not failures because we are not married. We are not failures because we cannot find our dream jobs. We are not failures. Our worth is not wrapped up in our performance.

Every woman is beautiful. Every woman has worth. Every woman has a purpose. Every woman deserves every good thing.

Worth….when did it become a weapon to tear someone down? When did it become something that we had to prove we have? When did it become something to attain not something you already possess?

I own my worth
I own my beauty
I own my identity
I own me

No one can steal my worth
No one can steal my beauty
No one can steal my identity
No one can steal me

I have been through abuse
I have been through darkness
I have been through hell and
I have come out the other side

I have worth
I have beauty
I have identity
I am me

My worth does not depend on anything. I have worth no matter what! We all have worth no matter what!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

